] }
(0) items items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
All Categories

    Contal-Chavannes, Marie-Hélène : Sustainable Design (eBook)

    Towards a New Ethic in Architecture and Town Planning

    The concept of sustainability stands at the center of efforts to develop an architecture capable of meeting the challenges of the future. In urban structures as well as in design and the details of execution, sustainable architecture demands a value-preserving, resource-friendly approach to materials and construction. It was in large part in order to do justice to this development that in 2007, the Cité de l'Architecture et du Patrimoine and Jana Revedin created the international Global Award for Sustainable Architecture, which honors architects who have specifically excelled in the area of sustainability.

    This book documents the work of the prizewinners for 2007 and 2008. A first section introduces the work and thought of each architect, while a second takes an in-depth look at two or three projects that illustrate their distinctive approach. The 2007 prizewinners are Stefan Behnisch, Germany; Balkrishna Doshi, India; Françoise-Hélène Jourda, France; Hermann Kaufmann, Austria; and Wang Shu, China. For 2008, the honorees are Fabrizio Carola, Italy/Mali; Philippe Samyn, Belgium; Carin Smuts, South Africa; Andrew Freear and his Rural Studio, USA; and Alejandro Aravena for Elemental, Chile.

    Das Konzept der Nachhaltigkeit steht im Mittelpunkt der Entwicklung einer zukunftsfähigen Architektur. In urbanen Strukturen ebenso wie in Entwurf und Detail der Ausführung ist der werterhaltende, ressourcenschonende Umgang mit Material und Konstruktion gefordert. Nicht zuletzt um dieser Entwicklung gerecht zu werden, initiierte die Cité de l'Architecture et du Patrimoine und Jana Revedin im Jahre 2007 erstmals den internationalen Global Award for Sustainable Architecture, der Architekten prämiert, die sich durch einen besonderen nachhaltigen Ansatz auszeichnen.

    Das Buch dokumentiert das Schaffen der Prämierten der Jahre 2007 und 2008. Ein erster Teil führt jeweils in die Arbeit und das Denken des Architekten ein, ein zweiter Teil präsentiert ausführlich zwei bis drei Projekte, die den jeweiligen Ansatz illustrieren. Die Prämierten des Jahres 2007 sind Stefan Behnisch, Deutschland, Balkrishna Doshi, Indien, Françoise-Hélène Jourda, Frankreich, Hermann Kaufmann, Österreich und Wang Shu, China; die Gewinner des Jahres 2008 sindFabrizio Carola, Italien/Mali, Philippe Samyn, Belgien, Carin Smuts, Südafrika, Andrew Freear und sein Rural Studio, USA und Alejandro Aravena für Elemental, Chile.

    ISBN: 978-3-0346-0876-3
    Availability: In stock

    Über den Autor Contal-Chavannes, Marie-Hélène

    Marie-Hélène Contal has been acting director and curator of the Institut Français d Architecture since 2001; she is the author of numerous publications on architecture.

    Jana Revedin is an independent architect in Italy and Austria; since 2007 she has been the commissioner general of the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture.